top of page
Licensure of Assisted Living


Minnesota was the only state that did not license assisted living facilities until licensure was passed in 2019:

  • Two tiers of licensing – assisted living and assisted living with memory care.

  • Establishes minimum standards for care, training, staffing and requires needs assessment prior to move-in.

  • Rulemaking is taking place 2019 – 2020.

  • Becomes effective August 1, 2021.

Consumer Protections and Rights


Licensure of Assisted Living
  • Two tiers of licensing – Assisted Living and Assisted Living with Memory Care

  • Establishes minimum standards of care, training and staffing

  • Rulemaking taking place 2019 – 2020

  • Effective August 1, 2021


Consumer Protections and Rights
  • Protections from: Arbitrary termination and retaliation.

  • Allows Elderly Waiver residents to continue living in the facility.

  • ‘I’m Ok’ checks must be clearly communicated.

  • Electronic monitoring clarified – effective 1/1/20.

  • Protection of elderly waiver residents.


Victims Fund Established
  • Compensates victims of maltreatment

  • Effective now and until 2021when Assisted Living Licensure becomes effective


Increased Funding for Regulatory Oversight
  • Supported significant funding increases for the Department of Health and 17 new staff for the Office of Ombudsman for Long Term Care

2019 Elder Voice Advocates 

bottom of page